The Body

Life is a human matrix and the body is but one part of the whole.  Each element needs to be balanced, connected and fulfilled for overall health.

The Matrix bring the five-parts of your identity together as a cohesive, balanced, interconnected whole.

~ Body ~

~ Mind ~

Heart ~

~ Soul ~

Spirit ~

The body, mind, heart, soul and spirit are the part of our holistic existence which the A.R.T. Project seeks to affirm and balance.

The health of each of these attributes affects the holistic health of the individual. The body needs to be nurtured along with each of the other components of the identity matrix. 

The essential truths or guiding principles are intentionally embraced so that we can develop each of these attributes to their healthiest potential.

Your core truths and values are ones that you carry with you through all life experiences. They bring out your authenticity and integrity.

Your stream of consciousness holds it all together.

the rainbow bridge between the earth and the spirit world

As spiritual beings, we are having human experiences. It’s essential that the physical vessels that are our homes stay healthy and vital.

Engage, consciously with this colour-filler journey through the 7 powerful energy centres in the body known as chakras. Chakras are wheels or discs of energy flowing through the body that have significant influence over your physical, emotional and spiritual well being.

Empower yourself by releasing blocked, stuck or stagnate energy through yoga, breathing and mindfulness practises. Picture yourself grounded, creative, courageous, alive and free. Visualize the colours of the energy centres you want to focus on for revitalization.

Seven Chakra Energy Centres

7. Crown ~ white/such as quartz
6. Third Eye ~ indigo/ such as lapis lazuli
5. Throat ~ blue/such as turquoise
4. Heart ~ green/ such as emeralds
3. Solar Plexus ~ yellow/such as citrine
2. Sacral ~ orange/such as amber
1. Root ~ red/such as bloodstone

Practice pranayama techniques

Pranayama is the formal practice of controlling the breath. This is the source of our prana or vital life force. There are several  pranayama exercises and poses, breathing techniques and sequences. Choose the ones that work best for you.

Practice asanas or postures

Yoga asanas are a combination of sitting, standing, and lying down poses.

Align your 7 Chakras with this Sampler of 7 Yoga/Asana Poses

Crown Chakra

Meditation is considered the best exercise for this chakra. Yet, we can promote energy centre balance with different crown chakra yoga poses such as head stands, the corpse pose and the half lotus.

Crown Chakra – Head Stand

Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra yoga poses, to bolster energy flow, include the child’s pose, cat/cow pose and should stands.

Third Eye Chakra – Cat Pose

Throat Chakra

To promote emotional balance and purification, different asanas to include in your yoga practice could include camel pose, plow pose and bridge pose.

Throat Chakra – Bridge Pose

Heart Chakra

Heart chakra poses help to promote peace and harmony between your physical and spiritual worlds. These asanas include the eagle pose, the low lunge, and back bends.

Heart Chakra – Low Lunge

Solar plexus chakra

Personal transformation and to keep your metabolism at a steady burn are supported by solar plexus chakra yoga poses. These include sun salutations, boat pose, leg lifts, mountain pose and the warrior pose.

Solar Plexus Chakra – Warrior Pose

Sacral chakra

The sacral energy centre is considered to be the gateway for all fluidity that makes you human from tears to blood to urination. Sacral chakra yoga poses include the cow face pose, the pigeon pose, bound and open angle poses, and the revolved triangle pose.

Sacral Chakra – Revolved Triangle Pose

Root chakra

The root chakra is at the base of the energy system. Poses that help to keep you grounded include reclining bound angle pose, child’s pose, forward bends, the crow pose and the head to knee pose.

Root Chakra – Crow Pose

Each set affects a particular section of the body and has its unique benefits. Seated yoga asanas are variations of asanas that need to be performed by sitting down on the ground.

They are ideal for flexibility and best for those just beginning to learn yoga as they are easily adaptable to any level of stamina.

Physical body and beyond

if we surrendered
to the earth’s intelligence
we could rise up rooted,
like trees…

~ Rainer Maria Rilke

Real, holistic healing involves grounding our psychological and spiritual discoveries into the physical reality of our existence

Namasté, Leah

© 2019 Leah J, M.Ed. Psychology writer/artist/teacher
The ART of Living the Matrix

Please also visit me at MediumTwitter and Pinterest.

Might you consider becoming a Patron in support of my work?


🕊 The ART Matrix is creating poetry & stories
on the journey into mentally healthy living.🕊